The history of The Masons Arms
Dating back to the year 1360, The Masons Arms was originally a ciderhouse comprising of only one bar, measuring just 8 x 4 ft, situated in the middle of a row of five cottages. Today the hotel has taken over that row of cottages and the thatched cottages enchantingly set in the garden overlooking the Inn.
All these buildings have been listed by the Department of the Environment as being of Special Architectural and Historic Interest Grade II.The Masons Arms is actually named after the skilled masons that helped to build Exeter Cathedral in the 12th Century. The masons were responsible for skilfully sculpting, by hand, the beautiful Beer stone that was quarried just 3 miles away from Branscombe. After a hard days work, the quarry labourers would drink and socialise in Beer. However, the skilled masons considered themselves in higher esteem than to socialise in the same places as the labourers; and instead travelled by horseback to enjoy The Inn in Branscombe, now recognised as being The Masons Arms.
Branscombe is a village steeped in history and the relaxing and unspoilt surroundings can make it feel as though you have stepped back in time. In fact Branscombe still even has a forge, worked by an award winning Master Blacksmith.
Branscombe is a true gem, a place that has survived the evolution of Britain.
So why not come and enjoy the tranquil historic surroundings for yourself.